Comprehensive smokefree laws now in place in 10 EU countries

The countries where smoking is entirely banned in public and workplaces and transport – including also pubs and bars are Ireland and UK and Bulgaria is to follow in June 2010. Italy, Sweden, Malta, Latvia, Finland, Slovenia, France and the Netherlands have opted legislation allowing special enclosed smoking rooms. This makes 10 countries with comprehensive protection.

1 in five Europeans are still exposed to second hand smoke on daily basis, and in Greece, Bulgaria and Slovenia 40%. 84% of Europeans support banning smoking in public places and indoor workplaces, 77% in restaurants and 61% in bars and pubs, so the support is widespread and strong. Source: The Flash Eurobarometer survey on Tobacco, March 2009 (Flash N° 253)

Leave a Reply

EFA eZine Archive